Hollyoaks and Coronation Street dominate British Soap Awards 2019

Hollyoaks and Coronation Street were the big winners at the British Soap Awards 2019 which were held at Manchester’s Lowry Theatre on Saturday 1st June and broadcast live on ITV, with Phillip Schofield on hosting duties. 

For only the second time in the awards’ 21-year history, Hollyoaks was voted by the public as Best Soap, beating rivals Corrie, EastEnders, Emmerdale and Doctors.

The C4 soap scooped an additional three prizes. – Best Actor for Gregory Finnegan (James Nightingale), Best Dramatic Male Performance for Adam Woodward (Brody Hudson) and Villain of the Year for abusive Buster Smith, played by Nathan Sussex. 

But Corrie was the big winner overall with five wins, another successful consecutive year for the soap who was cleaned up at the 2018 ceremony. 

The Street took home three gongs for the heartbreaking suicide of Aidan Connor, Best Storyline, Best Single Episode and Scene of the Year, as well as Alexandra Mardell (Emma Brooker) being named Best Newcomer.

Cobbles veteran Sue Nicholls was given the Outstanding Achievement Award for her four decades as Audrey. 

There was a trio of prizes for EastEnders – Best Young Performer for Kara-Leah Fernandes (Bailey Baker), Best Female Dramatic Performance for Gillian Wright (Jean Slater) and Best On-Screen Partnership for Roger Griffiths and Kara-Leah Fernandes (Mitch and Bailey Baker). 

Lucy Pargeter was voted Best Actress for her portrayal of Emmerdale’s Chas Dingle, with the Yorkshire-set soap also winning the Tony Warren Award for off-screen achievement for behind-the-scenes veteran Val Lawson. 

Doctors’ Sarah Moyle won Best Comedy Performance for her turn as kooky Valerie Pitman. 

The British Soap Awards were held on Saturday 1st June at the Lowry Theatre in Manchester, broadcast live on ITV with Phillip Schofield on hosting duties.

British Soap Awards 2019 nominees and winners:

Best British Soap 

Coronation Street 
Hollyoaks – WINNER! 

Best Actor 

Jack P Shepherd (David Platt, Coronation Street) 
Danny Dyer (Mick Carter, EastEnders) 
Zack Morris (Keegan Baker, EastEnders) 
Jeff Hordley (Cain Dingle, Emmerdale) 
Gregory Finnegan (James Nightingale, Hollyoaks) – WINNER! 

Best Actress 

Alison King (Carla Connor, Coronation Street) 
Lorraine Stanley (Karen Taylor, EastEnders) 
Lucy Pargeter (Chas Dingle, Emmerdale) – WINNER! 
Stephanie Davis (Sinead Shelby, Hollyoaks) 
Lauren McQueen (Lily McQueen, Hollyoaks) 

Villain of the Year 

Greg Wood (Rick Neelan, Coronation Street) 
Matthew Chambers (Daniel Granger, Doctors) 
Ricky Champ (Stuart Highway, EastEnders) 

Claire King (Kim Tate, Emmerdale) 
Nathan Sussex (Buster Smith, Hollyoaks) – WINNER! 

Best Comedy Performance 

Patti Clare (Mary Cole, Coronation Street) 
Sarah Moyle (Valerie Pitman, Doctors) – WINNER! 
Tameka Empson (Kim Fox, EastEnders) 
Nicola Wheeler (Nicola King, Emmerdale) 
Jessamy Stoddart (Liberty Savage, Hollyoaks) 

Best Newcomer 

Alexandra Mardell (Emma Brooker, Coronation Street) – WINNER! 
Bethan Mioore (Izzie Torres, Doctors) 
Ricky Champ (Stuart Highway, EastEnders) 
James Moore (Ryan Stocks, Emmerdale) 
Talia Grant (Brooke Hathaway, Hollyoaks) 

Best Storyline 

The Impact of Aidan’s Suicide (Coronation Street) – WINNER! 
Daniel and Zara’s Breakup (Doctors) 
Knife Crime (EastEnders) 
Charity’s Abuse (Emmerdale) 
Footballer Abuse (Hollyoaks) 

Best Single Episode 

Aidan’s Suicide and the Aftermath (Coronation Street) – WINNER! 
And the Beat Goes On… (Doctors) 
Consent (EastEnders) 
Chas & Paddy Say Goodbye to Baby Grace (Emmerdale) 
Where Do I Belong? (Hollyoaks) 

Best Male Dramatic Performance 

Rob Mallard (Daniel Osborne, Coronation Street) 
Ian Midlane (Al Haskey, Doctors) 
Zack Morris (Keegan Baker, EastEnders) 
Dominic Brunt (Paddy Kirk, Emmerdale) 
Adam Woodward (Brody Hudson, Hollyoaks) – WINNER! 

Best Female Dramatic Performance 

Katie McGlynn (Sinead Tinker, Coronation Street) 
Elisabeth Dermot Walsh (Zara Carmichael, Doctors) 
Gillian Wright (Jean Slater, EastEnders) – WINNER! 
Lucy Pargeter (Chas Dingle, Emmerdale) 
Nadine Mulkerrin (Cleo McQueen, Hollyoaks) 

Best On-screen Partnership 

Simon Gregson & Kate Ford (Steve & Tracy McDonald, Coronation Street) 
Ian Midlane & Adrian Lewis-Morgan (Al Haskey & Jimmi Clay, Doctors) 
Roger Griffiths & Kara-Leah Fernandes (Mitch & Bailey Baker, EastEnders) – WINNER! 
Lucy Pargeter  & Dominic Brunt (Chas Dingle & Paddy Kirk, Emmerdale) 
Nick Pickard & Alex Fletcher (Tony & Diane Hutchinson, Hollyoaks) 

Best Young Actor 

Elle Mulvaney (Amy Barlow, Coronation Street) 
Oliver Falconer (Joe Granger-Carmichael, Doctors) 
Kara-Leah Fernandes (Bailey Baker, EastEnders) – WINNER! 
Joe Warren-Plant (Jacob Gallagher, Emmerdale) 
Lacey Findlay (Dee Dee Hutchinson, Hollyoaks) 

Scene of the Year 

Gail’s Monologue (Coronation Street) – WINNER! 
The Crash (Doctors) 
Shake’s Funeral (EastEnders) 
Cain’s Confession (Emmerdale) 
Brody Confronts His Abuser (Hollyoaks) 

Outstanding Achievement Award 

Sue Nicholls (Audrey Roberts, Coronation Street)  

The Tony Warren Award 

Val Lawson (Emmerdale)

Leave a comment

Please or register to post.

Add comment